Emerging from Brooklyn via Florida in 2009, The Drums initially caught the ear of the indie world with their Summertime! EP. It was an escapist collection of beach pop fantasies, tracks suffused with a wistful, longing nostalgia that never pandered to cheap sentimentality. Their rise, particularly in the UK, was meteoric. Early buzz led to a prestigious spot on the BBC Sound of 2010 shortlist, followed in short succession by a slot on the Shockwaves NME Tour in 2009 and the publication’s Phillip Hall Radar Award in early 2010 well before the album’s release that summer.

The Drums released their third full-length album in September, 2014. Encyclopedia is full of "magic and surprise while maintaining a serious, more weighty tone throughout," says The Drums' Jonny Pierce. The LP marks the first time since their critically acclaimed Summertime! EP, in 2009 that Jacob and Jonny were left up to their own devices, without having to ask a soul for approval. The result is an exciting display of personal emotion and unashamed, majestic songwriting style.


View All Projects